Contact the Tax Administrator

Bill Jennings
Tax Administrator
P.O. Box 7 / 107 N Front St.
Hertford, NC 27944
(252)426-7010
Fax: (252)426-3624

Latest Events

Mon Dec 17 @ 7:00PM -
Commissioners Work Session
Thu Dec 20 @ 5:30PM -
Social Services Board Meeting
Fri Dec 21 @ 2:00PM - 05:00PM
Library Closing Early
Mon Dec 24
County Offices Closed
Tue Dec 25
County Offices Closed
Wed Dec 26
County Offices Closed
Mon Dec 31 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Library Closed
Tue Jan 01
County Offices Closed - New Years' Holiday
Mon Jan 07 @ 7:00PM -
Commissioners Regular Meeting
Tue Jan 08 @ 7:00PM -
Planning Board Meeting
Tax Administrator

2010-2011 Budget

What the Tax Department Does

  • Appraises real estate, mobile homes, motor vehicles, boats, motors, jetskis, and business personal property for ad valorem property tax purposes
  • Calculates, creates, and collects all real and personal property taxes for all taxing jurisdictions within Perquimans County
  • Calculates, collects and maintains records in relation to land transfer taxes
  • Receives and processes allocations for tax exemptions, exclusions and deferments
  • Updates and maintains current addresses for real estate property owners for tax billing
  • Processes motor vehicles license plate returns and tax refund
  • Provides tax information to the public and legal professionals

What the Tax Department Does Not Do

  • Set property tax rates
  • Determine how taxes are used
  • Issue Business Licenses
  • Have available information on property liens/judgments
  • Handle maintenance of streets, roads, highways or ditches
  • Issue license stickers for motor vehicles (No special county decal is required)

Download Tax Office Forms

Display Num 
Powered by Phoca Download